You are currently viewing Murphy & Haverty take 2020 Arklow Open Singles Titles!

Murphy & Haverty take 2020 Arklow Open Singles Titles!

  • Post category:News
  • Post comments:0 Comments

Congratulations to Mark Murphy who took the Men’s Open Singles title at the 2020 Arklow Open by defeating Noel O’Callaghan 2-1, having lost to him a month earlier at the Kingscourt Open. The race for Irish Season No. 1 is all to play for with only 3 tournaments left in the calendar.

Majella Haverty had a closely fought battle with Arklow local Toni Neary pipping her in a third set to take the title in the Ladies Open.

Other noteworthy winners included Darragh O Donoghue & Conor Skehan who took the Men’s Open Doubles title defeating favourites Adam Neary & Mark Murphy in a three set thriller.

Full Results:
Mens Open: Mark Murphy def. Noel O Callaghan
Womens Open: Majella Haverty def. Toni Neary(Arklow)
Mens B plate: Ken Cottrell def. Ray Breen
Mens C/D Singles: Scott Young (Arklow) def. Michael Herlihy
Womens C/D Singles: Anne-Marie Keogh def. Niamh Murphy
Mens Novice Singles: Elliot Young (Arklow) def. Ray Keogh
Mens Novice Plate: Patrick Coleman def. Derek Riordain
Womens Novice Plate Singles: Aine Casey (Arklow) def Tegan Russell (Arklow)
Mens Open Doubles: Conor Skehan & DaraghO Donoghue def. Adam Neary (Arklow) &Mark Murphy
Mens C/D/Novice Doubles: Billy Walsh & James Bolger def. Francis Duffy &Michael Herlihy.
Mens 40+: Noel O Callaghan def. Ken Cottrell
Mens 50+: Jimmy Gannon (Arklow) def Billy Walsh
Sports Person: James Smith

Source & Picture: RAI