Murphy and Hickey are 2018 Irish Singles Champions

Murphy and Hickey are 2018 Irish Singles Champions

Mark Murphy will relish the 2018 All Ireland Championships when he won his first Open Singles National title. Having been runner-up on four occasions he finally overcame the No.1 player Noel O’Callaghan (Fermoy) the same player who defeated him in those four finals. The Kilkenny athlete beat O’Callaghan this time round by 2 games to nil in the final. Well done Mark!

Aisling Hickey (Rossmore) continued her dominance in women’s racquetball defeating Donna Ryder (Newport) by 2 games to nil to win her 8th title in a row.

Other singles winners were Joe Devenney(Ballinrobe) Men’s B Singles, Mike Haverty(Castlebar) Men’s C Singles, Michael Barrett(Mitchelstown) Mens D Singles, Rosie Downey(Moycullen) Women’s D Singles, Sabieta Lynch( Brideswell) Women’s Novice Singles and Daniel Hanrahan(Galmaoy), the youngest ever winner of the Mens Novice Singles!

Doubles winners include:
Men’s Open Doubles Mark Murphy/Stevie Quinn (Kilkenny/CIT), Men’s C/D Jack Kearney/Ben Carey (Araglen), Mens Novice Daniel Hanrahan/Keelan O’Gorman (Galmoy S R Club/Araglen)
Women’s Open Doubles Majella Haverty/Katie Kenny (Castlebar)

Picture (c) RAI

No Comments

Add your comment