You are currently viewing Hickey and O’Callaghan retain All Ireland titles

Hickey and O’Callaghan retain All Ireland titles

  • Post category:News
  • Post comments:0 Comments

Noel O’Callaghan (Fermoy) and Aisling Hickey (Rossmore) retained their Singles titles at the All Ireland Championships held in Fermoy & Mitchelstown on the 4th & 5th March.
O’Callaghan defeated another Fermoy player Johnny O’Keeney 3 games to 2 in the finals while Hickey defeated Majella Haverty (Castlebar) 3 games to 1 in the Ladies final.
Arklow Racquetball Club won 3 titles, the Men’s B Singles Brian Byrne and Men’s D Singles James Smith. Antonia Neary completed the trio by winning the Ladies Open Doubles with partner Aisling Hickey (Rossmore).
Fermoy Racquetball Club also took 3 titles Men’s Open Singles Noel O’Callaghan, Men’s C Singles Chris Carey and Men’s Open Doubles Johnny O’Keeney with partner Ken Cottrell (Galmoy).
Men’s Novice Singles was won by newcomer Gerard Fogarty from Rossmore, Co Tipperary to complete 3 golds for the Rossmore club.
The Ladies Novice Singles gold was won by 15 year old Cara Delaney from the Galmoy Club.
Templederry, Co Tipperary featured in the winners list when Elaine Murphy won the Ladies C Singles title.
In the Men’s Intermediate Doubles, veterans Billy Walsh (Kilkenny) and Don Lawlor(Clogh) showed all their experience in wining the title. Ray Keogh(Tullaroan) and Ger O’Neill(Kilkenny) won gold in the Men’s Novice Doubles. The Ladies Novice Doubles title was won by Mitchelstown represented by Megan Coleman & Caylee Hogan winning the gold.

Source: RAI